Always Now Slowly
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14995,bridge-core-3.0.5,vcwb,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-29.2,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.10.0,vc_responsive

Always Now Slowly


Sensuality and poetry meets instinctive longing and aggressive head banging in a dance piece in 3 acts.


Always Now Slowly (2010) is an abstract performance for 4 dancers inspired by the writings, poetry and personality of the famous American writer and feminist Gertrude Stein (1874-1946). Two women dance a valentine to each other in changing tableaus inspired by the voice of Stein. Two men are caught together in repetitive and changing patterns of movement. Finally, men and women meets in a free interpretation of the libretto and play Three Sisters Who Are Not Sisters, originally written during World War II for five children, who are playing a game about murdering each other in a twist of humor and horror.


Always Now Slowly premiered 4 March 2010 at Dansescenen in Dansehallerne at Carlsberg in Copenhagen. After this it toured to the venue Entré Scenen in Århus. It was selected and performed at Aarhus International Choreographic Competition 2010, Ice-Hot Nordic Dance Platform in Stockholm 2010, DancEUnion Festival in London 2011, and Louisiana Literature Festival 2011, The conference A Valentine to Gertrude Stein at University of Copenhagen 2014.


The performance was sponsored by the Danish Arts Council Committee for the Performing Arts, Augustinus Fonden, Toyota-Fonden, Sonning-Fonden, Danmarks Nationalbanks Jubilæumsfond of 1968, City of Copenhagen, and Carlsbergs Mindelegat.


Created by:


Choreography: Lars Dahl Pedersen
Dance: Louise Hyun Dahl, Petra Fors, Michael Tang Pedersen, Jonathan D. Sikell
Light Design: Thomas Bendiksen
Sound Design: Mikkel Engel Gemzøe
Costumes: Camilla Lind
Consultant: Laura Luise Schulz
Admin and PR: Ulla Katrine Friis
PR Assistant: Eva Nordhagen
PR photo: Pernille Koldbech Fich and Freddie Tornberg
Graphics: Snorre Näsman/Depot 1